Saudi Press

Saudi Arabia and the world
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2021

HK Island district councilors took oaths of allegiance today

Hong Kong Island district councillors were the first to swear their allegiance to Hong Kong on Friday morning in the city’s first oath-taking ceremony for the directly elected municipal leaders.
A total of 25 members from Central and Western District, Eastern District, Wan Chai District, and Southern District will be the first to fulfil the new legal requirement.

The oath-taking process was held closed-door and monitored by Secretary for Home Affairs Caspar Tsui Ying-wai.

Among the 25 members, 24 of them confirmed they will take the oath yesterday, with 13 of them from the pro-democracy camp, including Clarisse Yeung Suet-ying, Leung Pak-kin, Jordan Pang Ka-ho, Victor Yeung Ho-yin, So Yat-hang, Jocelyn Chau Hui-yan and Jenny Leung Wing-sze.

Clarisse Yeung, who was among the 47 pro-democracy figures charged with subversion for organizing and participating in a primary vote for the Legco election, also showed up this morning for the ceremony at around 8am.

She did not respond to the reporter’s inquiries.

Three district councilors of the Central and Western District - Jeremy Young Chit-on, Jordan Pang Ka-ho, and Victor Yeung Sui-yin finished taking their oath and left the venue at around 9.30am today.

Victor Yeung, vice-chairman of the Central and Western District Council, said he did not think about the rumors about authorities preparing to unseat him.

Eastern district councilor Peter Choi Chi-keung, who was absent from the ceremony, will lose his seat, according to the home affairs chief Tsui.

Related Articles

Saudi Press